en
One is not born a woman
Through literary texts and music Katrine Horn and Rachël Esmoris stage Simone de Beauvoir's well known aphorisme : 'One is not born a woman, one becomes one'.
Imagination, humour and drama oscillate between the auditive, the visual and the olfactory senses, between the sensory and the intellectual faculties. Each fragrance has been developped to correspond to the female archetype in question and thus participates in the creation of a highly feminine atmosphere; an atmospfhere that bridges the gap between the Individual and the Universal, between men and women.
The same eclectic diversity can be found in the solo harp pieces where different kinds of music mixes, works by women as different as Louise Charpentier, a self-taught composer who ignored the conventions of any period, and Henriette Renié, a pure product of the Paris Conservatoire and one of the first women to be admitted into its composition class. Differing perspectives of the condition of women are thus showcased through costumes, lighting, and the types of music that range from a classical and abstract form such as in Marguerite douloureuse au rouet by Albert Zabel to a more concrete and narrative one as in that of Mein Herr by John Kander and Fred Ebb.
The show evolves around the harp, symbol of femininity, enabling us to catch a glimpse of the various shades of the feminine sphere of our world, resolutely at ease with itself. The harp, an expressive and impressive instrument, creates a counterpoint which plays with the so-called masculines values. Will the two ever find a common ground?
The show
The show opens on an air by Chopin thus allowing the audience to make the acquaintance of Lavinia, a young widow created by George Sand in her eponymous novel. Unconventional and weary of the scheming world Lavinia refuses a suitor. The scene closes with Hexentanz, The Witches' Dance, by Clara Schumann-Wieck, wife of the famous composer Robert Schumann. This is the first but not the last witch to tread the stage ! Another sorceress to be conjured up is Margaret, Faust 's mistress, in Sad Margaret at the Spinning Wheel, a piece for solo harp by Albert Zabel. She is patiently awaiting her lover but he has sold his soul to the Devil!

Nothing like it for Charlotte Brontë's heroine Jane Eyre who refuses to subject herself to a man's authority. Rebellious and indignant she exposes the inequities that women of her time endured. Rhapsodie, by Louise Charpentier, also bears witness to a courageous woman : harpist by profession, lacking recognition in her field, she left Paris to travel across France in a caravan with her harp! As a self-taught composer, unabashed, she created Rhapsodie, a spirited bravura piece with perhaps more sensibility than sense. Who can blame her?

Then along comes Nora who is leaving her husband Thorvald (played by Rachël Esmoris and Pierre Lavie) in a scene taken from A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen, mimed and set to music with an extract from Madame Butterfly, opera by Puccini. For a long time A Doll's House was banned from Europe's stages because at the time of its première in 1896, it was simply unthinkable for a woman to leave not only her husband (something that came close to the unacceptable) but also her children! Nora was a real witch and at a different time in history would have been banned from society or burned at the stake. She leaves her husband to become an adult thus refusing the rôle of woman-doll her husband had intended her for.

The brillance of the Danse des Lutins, the Goblins' Dance, by Henriette Renié, interrupts Nora's passion. Henriette was master of her art. She was one of the first women to be admitted into the composition class at the Paris Conservatoire. She was an outstanding harpist and a gifted composer who nevertheless at times « chose » to take care of her mother instead of pursuing her career. She played by the rules, both literally and figuratively speaking, in her personal life as well as in the art of composition.

With the help of Simone, yes, Simone de Beauvoir, everything slides into place thanks to an interview, generously put at our disposal by Radio Canada. Exit Simone, enter frivolity! Joy, exhilaration and pretty underwear take over the stage to provide us with a moment of fun and laughter. The laughter lingers on in Les Amis de Monsieur, a song by Harry Fragson and Eugène Héros which explores lover/mistress relations that take a surprising turn.

Anaïs Nin, capricious and free of social convention, has left us her diaries in which she discloses, or invents, everything, yes, absolutely everything!

Mein Herr, a song by John Kander and Fred Ebb illustrates Anaïs's point of view and offers us another view of a free woman. In contrast, the character who follows is trapped in some man's fantasy and loses her bearings. Is there hope for the two sexes? Will they ever meet on common ground ?

The closing song, La belle addition by Irénée Grulman, could make us doubt the answer. But in the end it all falls into place : the answer is a resounding YES !

fr
On ne naît pas femme
À travers des textes et des œuvres musicales Katrine Horn met en scène le célèbre aphorisme de Simone de Beauvoir :
« On ne naît pas femme, on le devient ». (Extraits vidéo)
Le rêve, l'humour et la poésie des textes trouvent toute leur place dans le spectacle en un va-et-vient entre l'auditif, le visuel et l'olfactif, entre le sensoriel et l'intellect. Chaque fragrance a été élaborée en fonction de l'archétype de femme représentée, et participe ainsi de la création d'un univers qui est certes féminin mais qui jette aussi des ponts entre l'individuel et l'universel, entre les femmes et les hommes.
La même diversité éclectique se retrouve dans les morceaux de harpe, où se côtoient des œuvres de femmes aussi différentes que Louise Charpentier, autodidacte en composition, faisant fi des conventions de toutes les époques, et Henriette Renié, pur produit du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et une des premières femmes à y être admise en classe de composition. Par les costumes, par les ambiances lumineuses, par une musique qui passe d'une forme classique et désincarnée, comme Marguerite douloureuse au rouet d'Albert Zabel, à une expression plus concrète et narrative, telle la chanson Les amis de Monsieur de Harry Fragson et d'Eugène Héros, la condition de la femme reçoit des éclairages très divers.
C'est autour de la harpe qu'évolue le spectacle. La harpe, symbole de féminité, se dévoile et laisse ainsi entrevoir un univers féminin assumé, décliné en diverses nuances. La harpe, instrument expressif et imposant, crée un contrepoint qui joue avec les valeurs dites masculines. Les deux se rencontreront -ils?
Le spectacle
Le spectacle s'ouvre sur des airs de Chopin et le public fait la connaissance de Lavinia, jeune veuve créée par George Sand dans son roman éponyme. Lasse des manigances du monde et insoumise aux conventions, Lavinia refuse un prétendant. La scène se termine sur Hexentanz, Danse des sorcières, de Clara Schumann-Wieck, épouse du célèbre compositeur Robert Schumann. Il y aura plusieurs sorcières qui vont danser! Une autre femme évoquée est Marguerite, amoureuse de Faust dans Marguerite douloureuse au rouet, pièce pour harpe seule d'Albert Zabel. Elle attend patiemment son amant mais il a vendu son âme au diable!

Rien de tel pour Jane Eyre, héroïne de Charlotte Brontë, qui refuse de se soumettre à qui que ce soit. Femme révoltée, elle s'insurge contre les injustices faites aux femmes de son époque. Rhapsodie, pièce pour harpe seule, de Louise Charpentier, témoigne aussi d'une femme courageuse : harpiste de son état, sans aucune reconnaissance dans son milieu, elle part sur les routes parcourir la France en roulotte avec sa harpe. Autodidacte en composition, elle ne se refuse rien et compose entre autre Rhapsodie, morceau de bravoure et de fougue, avec peut-être plus de sentiment que de raison. Qui peut lui le reprocher ?

Puis arrive Nora, en train de quitter son mari Thorvald (interprété par Rachël Esmoris et Pierre Lavie et diffusé en bande son) dans une scène tirée d'Une maison de poupée de Henrik Ibsen, le tout mimé et mis en musique par un extrait de Madame Butterfly, opéra de Puccini. Une maison de poupée a longtemps été censurée car à sa première en 1896, il était impensable qu'une femme quitte non seulement son mari, ce qui était à la limite de l'acceptable, mais aussi ses enfants! Nora était une vraie sorcière et, à une autre époque, elle aurait été mise au ban de la société ou brûlée vive. Elle quitte son mari pour devenir femme, refusant ainsi de rester à la place de femme-enfant que Thorvald lui a destinée. La brillance de la Danse des Lutins, pièce pour harpe seule de Henriette Renié, vient interrompre la passion de Nora. Henriette était maîtresse de son art. Une des premières femmes à être admises en classe de composition au Conservatoire Supérieur de Musique de Paris, elle était une harpiste hors pair, douée en composition, mais qui a par moments "choisi" de s'occuper de sa mère malade au lieu de se consacrer entièrement à sa carrière. Elle a joué selon les règles du jeu, dans tous les sens du terme, et dans sa vie personnelle et dans l'art de la composition.

Enfin Simone, oui, Simone de Beauvoir, vient à notre aide mettre un peu d'ordre dans tout cela, grâce à un extrait d'entretien gracieusement mis à notre disposition par Radio Canada. Au revoir Simone, bonjour la frivolité! La bonne humeur, la joie et les jolis dessous de femme envahissent la scène. Moment de détente et de rire. Les rires persistent dans Les Amis de Monsieur, chanson à texte de Harry Fragson et d'Eugène Héros qui examine les relations de maître/maîtresse et qui prend des tournures bien surprenantes.

Fantasque, libre, insoumise aux conventions, Anaïs Nin nous a laissé ses journaux intimes où elle dévoile ou invente tout, oui, absolument tout !

Mein Herr, chanson de John Kander et de Fred Ebb souligne les propos d'Anaïs et nous propose une autre vision de femme libre. Moins libre est la femme qui succède à cette chanson et qui se fait emprisonner dans les fantasmes de mec, qui perd ses repères. Y a-t-il de l'espoir pour ces deux sexes? Les deux se rencontreront-ils ?

La chanson qui suit, La belle addition, due à Irénée Grulman, pourrait nous faire hésiter sur la réponse. Mais elle finit par nous l'apporter avec humour : c'est oui !